Overview of the educational system

The national educational system consists of three levels: eight years of compulsory primary education (beginning at age six), four years at the secondary level, and four years of higher education. The government provides free primary and secondary education. Entrance into secondary school is contingent upon obtaining the Kenyan Certificate of Primary Education by passing a national exam. 

Non Formal Education in Urban Kenya, Findings of a study in Kimusu, Mombasa and Nairobi

This document reports the findings of a study on 88 Kenyan non-formal schools and centers in Kisumu, Mombasa and Nairobi. Carried out to generate data and information for further understanding of the non-formal sector, the study provides informed measures needed to improve the quality of non-formal education. It is a useful source of information to stakeholders, policy makers and all those involved in providing education opportunities to out of school youth and children.

Subscribe to Kenya